Starbucks Might Lose the War on Straws

Michael Beausoleil
6 min readJul 5, 2019

In 2018 I heard rumors of Starbucks removing straws from their drinks with the goal of entirely phasing them out by 2020. Recently, the reality of 2020 hit me in the face. I walked into Starbucks to pick up my drink and I had to ask for a straw (gasp!) Of course, the barista gave me one without issue, but the future is here. Plastic straws are on the way out.

To be clear, many restaurants are getting rid of plastic straws. Starbucks is not alone in this quest, but they’re obviously a big name in the beverage industry. When they make a decision, other companies…

--

--

Michael Beausoleil

User Analytics | Digital & Brand Marketing | Productivity … hoping to explore topics that interest me and find others with similar passions