How Dunkin’ Lost the Donut

Michael Beausoleil
4 min readAug 23, 2019

Growing up in New England, the Dunkin’ Donuts logo is as familiar as the Massachusetts license plate. Everyone knows the logo, and we know orange+pink= Dunkin’ Donuts. When the company rebranded itself as just “Dunkin’,” it raise a few eyebrows. It’s kind of Miley Cyrus deciding to become a one-named celebrity and just go by Miley. We still know who she is, but a piece of her origin appears missing. For Dunkin’, name is still recognizable, but donuts were always their staple product… right?

My Obsession With Dunkin’

Strawberry frosted doughnut from Dunkin’

Growing up on the East Coast, I spent more money at Dunkin’ than any other restaurant. I celebrated birthdays by bringing “Munchkins” to school, I spent drivers ed. going through Dunkin’ drive-thrus, and I saw New England athletes promote the brand at every game. Really, I couldn’t avoid it. I could pass by a Dunkin’ on the opposite side of the road knowing there would be another on my side of the road. You get the picture… Dunkin’ is ingrained into East Coast living. I couldn’t avoid it; I never stood a chance.

I’m not going to act like Dunkin’ has the best coffee in the world. It doesn't, but I do enjoy the coffee. It’s also cheaper than many alternatives like Starbucks but better quality than bargain coffees like 7/11’s. Dunkin’ is the right blend of taste, affordability, convenience, and consistency. It works…

--

--

Michael Beausoleil

User Analytics | Digital & Brand Marketing | Productivity … hoping to explore topics that interest me and find others with similar passions